The Thankful Jar

In the last year, I’ve become a Pinterest junkie.

You don’t know what Pinterest is, you say?

Well this is what Wikipedia has to say about Pinterest:
Pinterest is a pinboard-style social photo sharing website that allows users to create and manage theme-based image collections such as events, interests, hobbies, and more. Users can browse other pinboards for inspiration, ‘re-pin’ images to their own collections or ‘like’ photos. Pinterest’s mission is to “connect everyone in the world through the ‘things’ they find interesting”[2] via a global platform of inspiration and idea sharing. “

So Okay, maybe I’m not a full on junkie, maybe a recreational Pinterest abuser might be more fitting. (If by social-pinteresting we all acknowledge the fact that sometimes hours slip by before I realize they’ve gone. That drool puddles at my feet while I, glassy-eyed and slack-jawed stare breathlessly at beautiful glossy pictures of DIY projects and kids crafts I’ll never actually do) We all on the same page? Good!

But if you, like me, enjoy following other Pinterest-heads I welcome you to follow me at http://www.pinterest.com/jengoldston

I pin things for The Dream House (you know the one), quotes I’d like to remember (especially the ones that center around being nice, since I so often find myself being what one of those Blunt Cards would classify as A Bitch). Sometimes I post things that are supposed to help me keep my house spotless (there’s a whole host of people sitting on their fat asses behind computer screens with pants positively On Fire for all the so-called-time they’ve saved my cleaning schedule).

BUT- every once in a while I come across a Pin that makes it all worth while. A sort of A-HA! moment that reassures me that much like the genie in Aladdin’s lamp, Pinterest still contains diamonds in the rough of its soul-sucking-capabilities.

And so I present to you:

The Thankful Jar
The Thankful Jar

Now I first need to tell you that I found this from a friend on Pinterest, but after some researching, as far as I can tell, credit belongs to http://inchmark.squarespace.com . (Now that THAT is out-of-the-way)…

Let’s get back to the beauty that is The Thankful Jar, and how excited I am about it.

When I first began dating my (now) husband, his parents had a tradition on Thanksgiving of writing and reading out loud (the horror!) a synopsis of the years high and low points, and a list of things they were most thankful for that year.

The year after we began dating, his younger brother died and as expected, finding things to be truly Thankful for, even on The Holiday of Thanks, became more difficult than easy, and eventually, the tradition fell to the wayside.  I do not like public speaking, but I do love writing, so when I saw The Thankful Jar, I was immediately drawn in.

I plan, starting on Thanksgiving of this year, and once a week for the 52 weeks thereafter to sit with my family during dinner and for us all to write something we are thankful for, from the previous week. It doesn’t need to be huge, but it needs to be honest.  We are going to stuff The Thankful Jar so full of promise and joy and love that by next year, it’s going to explode. On Thanksgiving eve of 2013 I have visions of the five of us sitting together, going through the past year in a jar, pulling out the truly funny thanks, and the unbelievably moving ones, the ones that make me want to hug my family tighter, and the ones that make my belly hurt from laughing. Big things we could not forget if we tried, and little things we wouldn’t remember if they hadn’t been written down.

This house consists of: My husband Joe whose biggest emotional outbursts occur when The Steelers are playing the Ravens. Yours truly, whose biggest emotional outbursts occur approximately 304324832848542 times per day over anything and everything. Our son Sam, nicknamed The Mayor for his exceptional people skills and who at age 5 came up with my favorite word of all time; focustrating (when one is both concentrating and focused) and our daughter Marilyn, 3.5 years old. She of multi-colored tutus, a serious responsibility to all stuffed animals everywhere and who is still dead set on calling the baby currently incubating in my belly “Chocolate Cupcake”. Thankful posts from BabyJ (who is due in less than two weeks) will be penned by yours truly (I will probably cry each time I do it, and they will all probably be along the lines of ‘I am thankful for clean diapers’ or ‘I am thankful my dad has patience, especially when my mom has run out’).

I think that Thanksgiving 2013 is going to kick ass.

So what is a tradition you’d like to hand off to the rest of the world, or even better, have you found something that translated to real life, in the realms of Pinteresting?

*Edit, it was brought to my attention that I posted we’d be opening our jar in 2014. See, that’s what happens when you stare at Pinterest for too long. You.lose.years. Thankful to have the entire year of 2013 back… unless of course, the world ends on December 21st of 2012.. and then this was all for naught.

3 thoughts on “The Thankful Jar

  1. Love you and I love this. And I love focustrating. Also, it’s 2012, so you’ll open your jar in 2013. Thankful for calendars. Number 1.

Use Your Words and Reply!

